top of page

Louisiana Lawmaking

     The branch of government that is in charge of making laws is the Legislative BranchThis branch of government includes Congress, which is made up of two different chambers, the House of Representatives and the Senate.  Each state has its own Congress and there is also a Congress in Washington D.C. that passes laws for the entire nation. Bills must be voted on by Senators in the Senate and Representatives in the House of Representative and signed by the Governor (state level) or President (national level) to become a law.

Senators and Representatives are also called legislators. 

Campbell, Anne. Louisiana: the history of an American State. Clairmont Press, 2007. 

bottom of page